Recorded by Stein Bratland in Skansen Lydstudio Trondheim, Norway, May 2009.

Thematic improvisation denes this trio. The Mismeasure of Man is an eclectic mix of music, experiemental yet melodic. These three blaggards of jazz met at the infamous Trondheim Jazzlinja which has educated the vast majority of Norway’s jazz talent over the last few decades. Fear of Faces contrasts texture and melodicism in energetic interplay.

This is a truly multinational trio with Australian saxophonist Daniel Rorke, Norwegian Bassist Rune Nergaard and Swedish Drummer Tomas Järmyr. Rune Nergaard may be familiar to fans of improvised music as the bassist from the group Bushman’s Revenge that record on the Norwegian Runegrammofon label. Daniel Rorke has recently released a CD “San’an” also on SATU featuring Nergaard, Icelandic guitarist Hilmar Jensson whose work with Jim Black’s Alas No Axis is well known, and Per Oddvar Johansen who already has a number of ECM releases under his belt with the likes of Christian Wallumrød, Trygve Seim and The Source. Rorke has also previously won Icelandic jazz album of the year with his Nordic cohorts during a short stint spent cooling himself on that abstracted isle.

This recording shows evidence of inuence from the trios of saxophone legend Sonny Rollins but also from the Norwegian iconoclast Jan Garbarek and free jazz pioneers such as Albert Ayler. Dig a little deeper and one can hear Japanese folk music, Swedish black metal, contemporary composition and electronica informingthis music. This is a unique new take on the Jazz trio format by three of the strongestemerging young talents in Northern Europe


Label: SATU # 09/01


Daniel Rorke – Saxophones and Laptop

Rune Nergaard – Bass

Tomas Järmyr – Drums