Paul Grabowsky has been awarded the 2007 Melbourne Prize for Music in recognition of his “outstanding contribution to Australian music and to cultural and public life”.

The Victorian pianist, composer and conductor will receive $30,000 to undertake an international travel scholarship and $30,000 in cash.

The judges statement read: “Paul Grabowsky is a Victorian pianist and composer who has made an outstanding contribution to Australian music and has enriched cultural and public life. He has been influential in the development of music, especially improvised music and cross-genre undertakings, in Australia and overseas.

“His work aims to challenge and expand the understanding of music through the uniting of various styles from around the world. Paul has had a strong impact on Australian society through his performances, recordings, radio and television work and compositions.”

The winner of the Outstanding Musician’s Award went to recorder player Genevieve Lacey, while Julian Langdon won the Development Award.

The finalists in each category were:

Melbourne Prize for Music

Brenton Broadstock
Paul Grabowsky
David Jones
Paul Kelly
Richard Mills

Outstanding Musicians Award

Clare Bowditch
David Chisholm
The Cat Empire
Luke Howard and Leonard Grigoryan
Cameron Hill
Andrea Keller
Genevieve Lacey
Stephen Magnusson
Geoffrey Morris
Flinders Quartet

Development Award

Sam Anning
Sophie Brous
Aura Go
Julian Langdon
Tristram Williams