APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre announce the 2018 Art Music Awards finalists. Celebrating a diverse range of artists, organisations and some of Australia’s finest composers and performers in contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music, recognised for excellence in their field.

“It’s particularly good to see first-time finalists and the emerging generation of artists featured prominently across this year’s award categories, alongside more established names. This is testament to the vibrancy of our art music scene, reflecting a rich landscape of creative practice across the sector.” John Davis, CEO of the Australian Music Centre

2018 finalists include composers and performers Eugene Ughetti (VIC), Barney McAll (VIC), Carl Vine (NSW), Connor D’Netto (QLD), Andrew Ford (NSW), Mary Finsterer (VIC), Sandy Evans (NSW), Matthew Sheens (overseas) and Keyna Wilkins (NSW). Nominated organisations include the West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Moorambilla Voices (NSW), Orpheus Club String Quartet (QLD), Australian Art Orchestra (VIC), Gondwana Choirs (NSW), Big hART (TAS), Melbourne Conservatorium of Music Wind Symphony, Chamber Made (VIC) and MLC School (Sydney). 

Award for Excellence in Jazz
•     Alister Spence Trio for Not Everything But Enough
•     Barney McAll for Hearing the Blood
•     Jeremy Rose for the recording, performance, composition and promotion of contemporary jazz through Earshift Music
•     Sandy Evans for rockpoolmirror

Jazz Work of the Year
Title:                            American Counterpoint
Composer:                  Matthew Sheens
Performer:                  Zephyr String Quartet, Matthew Sheens, Lyndon Gray, Myele Manzanza

Title:                            [A]part
Composer:                  Ellen Kirkwood
Performer:                   Sirens Big Band, Andrea Keller (piano), Sandy Evans (saxophones), Gian Slater (voice)

Title:                            Opioid
Composer:                  Johannes Luebbers
Performer:                   Johannes Luebbers Dectet

Title:                            rockpoolmirror
Composer:                  Sandy Evans
Performer:                   Sandy Evans (saxophone), Steve Elphick (double bass), Alon Ilsar (drums), Satsuki Odamura (koto), Adrian Sherriff (trombone), Bobby Singh (tabla)

The Art Music Awards will be presented to the winners in eleven national categories, as well as Australian state or territory awards, on Tuesday 21 August at Melbourne’s Plaza Ballroom.