A sneak peak into what inspires this year’s National Jazz awards finalists and where they are heading

JK: What has inspired you to date in your career?
AT: Everything from family through to friends and fellow musicians. I’ve had the chance to perform with and listen to a broad array of musicians, and I enjoy findind positive inspiration from every musical situation I find myself in.

JK: Into the future what kind of music do you want to create?
AT: I hope the music I create in the future reflects the experiences I have as a musician.


A graduate of the Elder Conservatorium of Music (Jazz Performance), Alex was awarded “Most Outstanding Undergraduate – Jazz Trombone” in 2012, and graduated with First Class Honours, and awarded “Most Outstanding Jazz Honours Student” in 2013. Since graduating, Alex has become a member of the Elder Conservatorium faculty, serving as the Jazz Trombone Lecturer. Alex regularly performs throughout the Adelaide music scene as a freelance trombonist and sousaphonist, is a musical director in the JazzSA SuperBand program, and Co-Artistic Director for Creative Original Music Adelaide (COMA).



This year’s National Jazz Award finalists are Thomas Avgenicos · Josh Bennier · Niran Dasika · Simon Ferenci · James Macaulay · Ricki Malet · Eamon McNelis · Joe O’Connor · Alex Taylor · Patrick Thiele.
Jazz Australia feature story here
Link to Wangaratta Festival of jazz & blues – 3 – 5 November 2017 here